Battle of Passchendaele

Ever since 1915 the British high command had been toying with the idea of forcing a breakthrough in Flanders. But the Germans were prepared. A network of bunkers commanded the battlefield.
CO2265
E01237© AWM E01237

In search of a breakthrough in Flanders

On 31 July 1917 the day came. More than 4.2 million shells were fired at the German positions. The shelling failed in its aim. Bunkers remained intact while the landscape was churned up and the drainage system destroyed. A series of summer downpours turned the field of operations into a morass. Animals, men and equipment sank into the mire.

After weeks of trudging through the mud, New Zealanders, Australians and South Africans joined the exhausted British divisions. Momentum was gained briefly, but then the attack stalled again. 12 October saw a particular fiasco when New Zealanders and Australians advanced onto the fortified high ground at Passchendaele. The British breakthrough towards the Flemish coast was in danger of ending in failure.

Passchendaele

For the army high command, halting the offensive, however many lives that might save, was not an option. A victory, even a symbolic victory, was vital. Field Marshall Haig’s eye fell on Passchendaele. The heavily shelled village on top of the West Flemish ridge had been in German hands since 1914 and had assumed mythical proportions.

To win that prize, Haig turned to the Canadians. Arthur Currie, commander of the Canadian Corps, was not amused. When Haig approached him, he responded as follows:

"Passchendaele! What’s the good of it? Let the Germans have it – keep it – rot in it! Rot in the mud! There’s a mistake somewhere. It must be a mistake! It isn’t worth a drop of blood."
General Arthur William Currie
Sir General Arthur William Currie Smithsonian American Art Museum© Smithsonian American Art Museum

But Currie had no choice. He reluctantly accepted the task, on condition that he would be given time and above all more artillery. More than one gun for every four metres of front line.

In an early phase the troops would have to extricate themselves from the mud. Once they had reached higher, dryer ground, Passchendaele would be theirs for the taking. The stretch of high ground north of Passchendaele was to be won in a final phase.

‘I fell into the bottomless mud, and lost the light’

Nothing could have prepared the Canadians for the hell of Passchendaele. Nearby villages, which some of them remembered from 1915, had been wiped off the face of the earth. The roads had been reduced to muddy water courses, and positions were flooded or non-existent. German artillery bombarded the supply lines.

In the early hours of 26 October 1917 the guns belched out their deadly load. The defending forces withdrew to their shelters. When the thunder of the artillery died away and the Canadians moved forward, the Germans manned their machine guns. Resistance was fierce; the losses were correspondingly great.

Bellevue, essential to the defence to the west of Passchendaele, fell. The Canadians dig in on the side of the ridge.

The renewed advance of 30 October was tortuous. Plodding through the mud, the men were an easy target. Yet there were successes. They took Crest Farm, a heavily defended stronghold between them and Passchendaele.

Mike Foxhead
Q
Q

Mike Foxhead

Mike Foxhead

Despite needing more manpower, the Canadian Army was hesitant about allowing Indigenous peoples to join its ranks. The unprecedented losses changed that. The decision was made to recruit actively among the Indigenous population.

Conversely, there was great distrust of the government among the First Nations of Canada, the Inuit and the Métis. The tribal nations were indifferent or even downright hostile to a war that had nothing to do with them. Yet the recruitment campaign on the reservations was a success. Many young men were eager to prove themselves and volunteered to join up.

Eighteen-year-old cattleman Mike Foxhead joined the 50th Battalion (Calgary) in September 1917.

In the dead of night, Mike’s unit arrived at Ypres on 21 October 1917. After a short break for tea and rations, his battalion moved further eastwards, deeper into the nightmare. Before they could properly occupy their positions, the men came under fire. The force of the explosions wrenched the gas masks off their faces and many young men were gassed.

The next day Mike found himself in the front line close to Tyne Cot. Conditions there were terrible. The Canadians were crammed together to wait for the attack of 26 October. The units were under constant fire. One survivor of the 50th Battalion described the march to Passchendaele as follows:

‘Place of death’
‘Mud and weeping skies joined in the wretched cacophony of bursting shells, screaming bullets, shattering shrapnel, and the tortuous cries of the wounded and the dying. … Men were crazed, some driven stark insane. Unmitigated hell reigned.’

Mike Foxhead, barely 19, died on 23 October 1917. He was given a field burial near Tyne Cot.

CO3751© BAC LAC O-3751
A Canadian narrow gauge unit transporting heavy artillery across the flooded plain in front of Passchendaele, November 1917.

‘We penetrated deeper and deeper into the heart of darkness’

On the cold morning of 6 November, the Canadians launched their ultimate attack on Passchendaele. German positions were surrounded and, supported by light machine guns and mortars, the infantry did its job. The motto was ‘fire and movement’.

Targeted shelling, thorough logistical preparation and shock-troop tactics bore fruit. The ruins of Passchendaele were taken. Yet the losses were unutterably heavy.

John William Collins & William Lister Morrison
IMG 7349 1273x1280 1500x1500
IMG 7349 1273x1280 1500x1500

John William Collins & William Lister Morrison

John William Collins & William Lister Morrison

The 2nd Battalion (Eastern Ontario Regiment) suffered 267 dead, wounded and missing within just a few hours. Thirty-year-old John Collins and William Morrison, ten years his junior, died close to their objective. They were buried together along the Paardebosstraat, close to what the British called Valour Farm.

‘Place of death’
U1
U2

CO2212

Wounded Canadians at Passchendaele, 1917.

Conclusion

The Germans could take no more. They raised their hands en masse. After three months and losses of 600.000, including more than 175.000 dead, the Allied high command had its trophy. In just a few weeks, 4.000 Canadians had been killed, more than 12.000 wounded and countless others marked for life.

"I spent thirty-one months in France and Belgium and I would do all of the rest over again rather than those six weeks at Passchendaele."
After the war, Gunner Ernest Black tried to put the Battle of Passchendaele into words.
CO2214© BAC LAC O-2214
A wounded Canadian is evacuated past a number of field graves, November 1917.
We will remember them

Discover the Canadian missing on the online portal.

The First World War left its mark on Flanders in many ways. Monuments, cemeteries and bunkers are scattered all over the landscape. The online portal seeks out the silent witnesses of the war in an attempt to give missing Canadians a place in the landscape. Want to know their stories?

La Bataille de Passchendaele

Depuis 1915, le haut commandement britannique joue avec l'idée de forcer une percée dans les Flandres. Mais les Allemands sont préparés. Un réseau de bunkers contrôle le champ de bataille.
CO2265
E01237© AWM E01237

En quête d’une avancée en Flandre

Le 31 juillet 1917, le moment est venu. Plus de 4,2 millions d'obus sont lancés sur les positions allemandes. Les bombardements manquent leur cible. Les bunkers sont épargnés alors que le paysage a été mis sens dessus dessous et que le système de drainage a été détruit. Quelques averses estivales ont transformé la zone d'opérations en marécage. Les animaux, les personnes et les machines s'enfoncent dans la boue.

Après des semaines de dur labeur, les Néo-Zélandais, les Australiens et les Sud-Africains rejoignent les divisions britanniques épuisées. Après un court élan, l'attaque stagne à nouveau. Le 12 octobre, en particulier, est un fiasco. Les Néo-Zélandais et les Australiens dépérissent sur les hauteurs fortifiées près de Passchendaele. La percée britannique vers la côte flamande est menacé de tourner au désastre.

Passchendaele

Arrêter l'offensive, quel qu’en soit le nombre de vies qu'elle pourrait sauver, est hors de question pour le commandement suprême. Une victoire, même symbolique, est absolument indispensable. Le regard du maréchal Haig se pose sur Passchendaele. Le village déchiqueté, situé au sommet de la crête de la Flandre occidentale, est aux mains des Allemands depuis 1914 et a pris des dimensions mythiques.

Afin de pouvoir triompher, Haig se tourne vers les Canadiens. Arthur Currie, le commandant du Corps canadien, est mécontent. Lorsque Haig s'approche de lui, il répond :

"Passchendaele ! A quoi ça sert ? Laissez-le aux Allemands - Gardez-le - Pourrissez-y ! Pourrissez dans la boue ! Il s’agit d’une erreur. Ça doit être une erreur ! Ça ne vaut pas une goutte de sang."
General Arthur William Currie
Sir General Arthur William Currie© Smithsonian American Art Museum

Mais Currie n'a pas l’embarras du choix. Il accepte la mission à contrecœur. A condition que l’on lui donne du temps et surtout de l'artillerie supplémentaire. Plus d'un canon pour quatre mètres de front.

D’abord, les troupes doivent se libérer de la boue. Dès qu’ils ont atteint un terrain plus élevé et plus sec, Passchendaele est à portée de main. La partie de la crête au nord de Passchendaele est pris dans une dernière phase.

"J’étais tombé au fond de la boue et tout devint noir autour de moi"

Rien ne peut préparer les Canadiens à l'enfer de Passchendaele. Des villages, que certains connaissaient encore d’en 1915, ont disparu de la surface de la terre. Les routes se sont transformées en cours d'eau boueux. Les positions se sont englouties ou sont même inexistantes et l'artillerie allemande bombarde les voies d'approvisionnement.

Au petit matin du 26 octobre 1917, l'artillerie crache sa charge mortelle. Les défenseurs se sont retirés dans leurs abris. Lorsque les bruits sourds s'atténuent et que les soldats canadiens avancent, les Allemands déclenchent leurs mitrailleuses.

La résistance est grande, mais il en est de même pour les pertes..

Bellevue, l’axe de la défense à l'ouest de Passchendaele, s’écroule. Les Canadiens se trouvent sur la colline.

La nouvelle avancée du 30 octobre se déroule aussi péniblement. En pataugeant dans la boue, les soldats sont des cibles faciles.

Pourtant, le succès est au rendez-vous. La Crest Farm, un rempart de Passchendaele armé jusqu'aux dents, est prise.

Mike Foxhead
Q
Q

Mike Foxhead

Mike Foxhead

Malgré le besoin en effectifs, l'armée canadienne fut réticente à accepter des autochtones dans ses rangs. Les pertes sans précédent la firent changer d’avis. On décida de recruter activement parmi les peuples autochtones.

La méfiance à l'égard du gouvernement et de l'armée parmi les Premières nations du Canada, les Inuits et les Métis, fut grande. Les nations tribales furent indifférentes, voire carrément hostiles, à une guerre dans laquelle elles n'eurent rien à faire. Pourtant, la campagne de recrutement dans les réserves s’avéra fructueuse. De nombreux garçons se sentirent impatients de faire leurs preuves et s'engagèrent volontairement.

Le vacher de 18 ans, Mike Foxhead, rejoignit le 50ème bataillon (Calgary) en septembre 1917.

Au cœur de la nuit, l'unité de Mike arriva à Ypres le 21 octobre 1917. Après une courte pause pour le thé et les rationnements, son bataillon se déplaça vers l'est, au plus profond du cauchemar. Avant même de pouvoir prendre leurs positions, le feu s’ouvrit sur eux. Le choc des explosions leur arracha les masques à gaz du visage. Plusieurs garçons furent gazés.

Le lendemain, Mike se trouva en première ligne près deTyne Cot. Les conditions furent atroces. Entassés, les Canadiens attendirent l'attaque du 26 octobre. Les unités gémirent sous les coups de feu incessants. Un survivant du 50ème bataillon décrivit le passage à Passchendaele comme suit :

"Lieu de décès"
"La boue et les cieux en pleurs se joignirent à la cacophonie misérable des explosions d’obus, des balles hurlantes, des éclats d'obus et des cris tortueux des blessés et des mourants. [...] Les hommes devenaient fous, certains avaient complètement perdu les pédales. Un véritable enfer dans toute son intensité."

Mike Foxhead, à peine âgé de 19 ans, mourut le 23 octobre 1917. Il fut enterré dans un champs près de Tyne Cot.

CO3751© BAC LAC O-3751

“Nous nous enfoncions davantage au coeur des ténèbres”

Par un matin glacial du 6 novembre, les Canadiens lancent leur ultime attaque sur Passchendaele. Les positions allemandes sont encerclées et, assistée par des mitrailleuses légères et des mortiers, l'infanterie fait le travail. La devise est tirer et bouger. Continuer à avancer en tirant sans cesse.

Les tirs ciblés, les minutieuses préparations logistiques et les tactiques des commandos d’assaut portent leurs fruits. Les ruines de Passchendaele sont prises. Pourtant, les pertes restent indescriptiblement lourdes.

John William Collins & William Lister Morrison
IMG 7349 1273x1280 1500x1500
IMG 7349 1273x1280 1500x1500

John William Collins & William Lister Morrison

John William Collins & William Lister Morrison

En quelques heures à peine, le 2ème bataillon (Eastern Ontario Regiment) compta 267 tués, blessés et disparus. John Collins, 30 ans, et William Morrison, de 10 ans son cadet, furent tués près de la cible visée. Les deux hommes furent enterrés ensemble dans la Paardebosstraat, tout près de ce que les Britanniques appelèrent Valour Farm.

"Lieu de décès"
William Lister Morrison
John William Collins

CO2212

Des blessés Canadiens à Passchendaele, 1917.

Conclusion

Le ressort allemand a été anéanti. Les mains se lèvent en masse. Après trois mois, 600 000 victimes et plus de 175 000 morts, le commandement suprême a décroché son trophée. En quelques semaines, 4 000 Canadiens sont tués, plus de 12 000 sont blessés et un nombre innombrable est marqué à vie.

"J'ai passé 31 mois en France et en Belgique et je referais volontiers tout le reste. plutôt que ces six semaines à Passchendaele."
Après la guerre, l'artilleur Ernest Black a essayé de visualiser la Bataille de Passchendaele en mots :
CO2214© BAC-LAC O-2214
Un Canadien blessé est évacué, novembre 1917.
Nous nous souviendrons d'eux

Découvrez les portés disparus canadiens sur le portail en ligne.

La Première Guerre mondiale a laissé de nombreuses traces dans le Westhoek. Le paysage est parsemé de monuments, de cimetières et de bunkers. Le portail en ligne se concentre sur les témoins silencieux de la guerre. Il veut attribuer aux Canadiens disparus une place dans le paysage. Curieux de découvrir leurs histoires?