'Land of mine'

In 1915 two new Canadian divisions were developed and the Canadian Corps was established. A fourth and final combat division followed in 1916. In early 1916 the Canadian Corps moved into positions to the south of Ypres. Once again the Canadians were to be sorely tried.
St Eloi Craters Kemmel in the background 1919 BAC LAC O 4681 © BAC LAC O 4681
St Eloi Craters. Kemmel in the background, 1919.

St. Eloi

At St. Eloi, to the south of Ypres, stands The Mound, a spoil heap left behind by a brickworks. The hillock was in German hands and a thorn in the side of the British high command. On 27 March 1916, six deep mines reduced The Mound to a series of craters.

After a week of bloody fighting, the craters were in British hands. In early April the brand new 2nd Canadian Division relieved the British troops. It would see action for the first time.

The positions were rudimentary, the trenches shallow and flooded. The dead and wounded lay everywhere, as it was too dangerous to evacuate them. The deep mire obstructed every attempt to relocate equipment and anyone who fell into a shell hole disappeared into the stinking mud. Snipers and artillery spotters punished every move.

On 6 April the Germans launched a counteroffensive. In shelling that lasted for several hours, they cleared the Canadians out of the craters. The terrain gained was lost once more. All those deaths, mutilations and wounds had been in vain.

Robert Myles Elliott
K
K

Robert Myles Elliott

Robert Myles Elliott

After the battle at The Mound, the Canadians stayed in the area. On 23 May 1916 the 28th Battalion (Northwest) left for the front line. One of the nervous young men to take his place with them was Robert Myles Elliot. Suddenly a shot rang out. Robert fell to the ground. A German bullet had hit him in the knee. The young man went into shock and succumbed to loss of blood within ten minutes. Aged twenty-six, he had emigrated from Scotland to Canada in his early twenties. Within five years he was dead in the mud at St. Eloi. Robert was buried at the front.

‘Place of death’
  • Canadian troops in the front line trenches at Ploegsteert March 1916 IWM Q 446© IWM Q 446
    Canadian troops, wearing steel helmets, in the trenches at Ploegsteert, March 1916.
  • Helm© CWM 20000112 010
    Helmets, first used at the battle of St. Eloi in Spring 1916, were introduced to help reduce the number of head wounds due to shrapnel and shell fragments. A helmet generally could not stop a bullet fired directly at its wearer. The red rectangle on the front of this helmet indicates its owner served in the 2nd Infantry Battalion.
Lunch time in the trenches, June 1916.© BAC-LAC O 88

Mount Sorrel

In late May 1916 the inexperienced 3rd Canadian Division was defending the surroundings of Mount Sorrel, one of the few bits of high ground near Ypres that was in Allied hands. In the morning of 2 June 1916 the Canadian positions were demolished by shelling and in the afternoon the Germans exploded four mines.

Opposite the Canadians were troops of the Kingdom of Württemberg. The Württembergers overran the high ground and on 6 June they once again detonated four mines. Hooge, less than an hour’s walk from the Menin Gate, was taken without significant resistance.

At British HQ alarm bells rang. Ypres was on the point of falling. Additional artillery was sent to Flanders with great haste and suddenly the roles were reversed. After heavy shelling, the Canadians recaptured the strategically important high ground.

Norman Southorn
M
M

Norman Southorn

Norman Southorn

Immediately after the German attack, the order was given to mount a counterattack. Reinforcements were brought up with all speed. The men marched through the night. The operation was hastily knocked together and at the starting positions there was confusion, but the battalions hesitantly mounted the attack.

By now it was full daylight. Only small groups managed to reach German lines in the face of heavy fire. The 14th Battalion (Royal Montreal Regiment) suffered badly; after barely three hundred metres, two thirds of the battalion was out of action.

Norman Southorn was only nineteen when he decided to join up. He was determined to do so, and his parents were unable to change his mind. In the hope of protecting his son, Norman’s father Edward also volunteered for service, but father and son were separated. Norman was sent to the front, whereas his father, twenty years older, was deployed further back. In late 1915 Norman joined the 14th Battalion. Six months after that he was mortally wounded during the counterattack on Mount Sorrel. He was buried at Railway Dugouts Burial Grounds, but his grave was lost. In 1919 Edward returned home alone.

‘Place of death’
N 185 T 1 Nr 55© Landesarchiv Baden-Württemberg, Abt. Staatsarchiv Sigmaringen, N 1/85 T 1 Nr. 55
Württembergers in the front line, 1916.

Conclusion

By the end the situation was more or less the same as before 2 June 1916, except that 1.100 Canadians had been killed, 2.000 were missing, and thousands of others had been wounded or traumatized. On the Württembergers’ side, 1.300 had been killed and 3,982 wounded, while 560 men were missing.

  • Royal Highlanders of Canada June 1916 BAC LAC O 106© BAC LAC O 106
    Royal Highlanders of Canada, June 1916.
  • Line of lorries ready to take ammunition to the Front June 1916 BAC LAC O 23© BAC LAC O 23
    Line of lorries ready to take ammunition to the Front, June 1916.
Passchendaele

Discover the Canadian missing on the online portal.

The First World War left its mark on Flanders in many ways. Monuments, cemeteries and bunkers are scattered all over the landscape. The online portal seeks out the silent witnesses of the war in an attempt to give missing Canadians a place in the landscape. Want to know their stories?

Les Oubliés

En 1915, deux nouvelles divisions canadiennes sont déployées et le corps d'armée canadien est formé. Une quatrième et dernière division de combat suivra en 1916. Au début de 1916, le corps canadien occupe des positions au sud d'Ypres. Une fois de plus, les Canadiens seront mis à rude épreuve.
St Eloi Craters Kemmel in the background 1919 © BAC LAC O 4681
Cratère près de Sint-Elooi avec le Mont Kemmel à l’arrière-plan. 1919.

Sint-Elooi

À Sint-Elooi, au sud d'Ypres, est situé The Mound (la Butte) ; c’est un amas de déchets provenant d'une briqueterie. Le monticule est aux mains des Allemands et constitue une épine dans le pied du commandement de l'armée britannique. Le 27 mars 1916, The Mound est réduit à quelques cratères par six mines profondes.

Après une semaine de combats sanglants, les cratères se retrouvent aux mains des Britanniques. Début avril, la toute nouvelle 2e division canadienne fait la relève pour les Britanniques. C'est la première fois qu'elle passe à l’action.

Leurs positions sont à peine construites. Les tranchées sont peu profondes et inondées d'eau. Les cadavres et les blessés sont partout. Il est trop dangereux de les évacuer. La boue absorbante empêche tout déplacement. . Celui qui tombe dans un cratère disparaît dans la bave puante. Les snipers et les guetteurs d'artillerie punissent tout mouvement.

Leurs positions sont à peine développées. Les tranchées sont peu profondes et pleines d'eau. Les cadavres et les blessés sont partout. Il est trop dangereux de les évacuer. La boue profonde empêche tout mouvement. Celui qui tombe dans un cratère disparaît dans la boue putride. Les tireurs d’élite et les observateurs d'artillerie répriment tout mouvement.

Le 6 avril, les Allemands lancent une contre-attaque. Un bombardement d'une heure anéantit les Canadiens dans les cratères. Le terrain regagné se perd une nouvelle fois. Tous les morts, les mutilés et les blessés n'auront servi à rien.

Robert Myles Elliott
K
K

Robert Myles Elliott

Robert Myles Elliott

Après la bataille près du The Mound, les Canadiens restèrent dans la région. Le 23 mai 1916, le 28ème bataillon (nord-ouest) se déplaça vers la ligne de front. L'un des garçons, tendu en prenant sa place, est Robert Myles Elliott. Soudain, un coup de feu retentit. Robert s'effondra. Une balle allemande l'avait touché au genou. Le garçon fut en état de choc et succomba en 10 minutes par trop de perte de sang. L'homme de 26 ans avait émigré d'Écosse au Canada au début de sa vingtaine. Cinq ans plus tard, il mourut dans la boue près de St Elooi. Robert fut enterré sur la ligne de front.

"Lieu de décès"
  • Canadian troops in the front line trenches at Ploegsteert March 1916© IWM Q 446
    Troupes canadiennes, portant des casques d'acier, dans les tranchées de Ploegsteert, mars 1916.
  • Helm© CWM 20000112 010
    Le rectangle rouge sur le casque indique que le propriétaire a servi dans le 2e bataillon d'infanterie.
Repas du midi dans les tranchées, juin 1916.© BAC-LAC O 88

Mount Sorrel

À la fin du mois de mai 1916, la 3e division canadienne, inexpérimentée, défend les environs du Mont Sorrel, l'une des rares hauteurs près d'Ypres aux mains des Alliés. Au matin du 2 juin 1916, les positions canadiennes sont anéanties. A midi, les Allemands font exploser quatre mines.

En face des Canadiens se trouvent les troupes du Royaume de Württemberg. Les Württembergeois envahissent les hauteurs et le 6 juin, ils font à nouveau exploser quatre mines. Hooge, à moins d'une heure de marche de la Porte de Menin, est conquise sans résistance notable.

On sonne l’alarme au quartier général britannique. Ypres est sur le point de succomber. En toute hâte, de l'artillerie supplémentaire est envoyée en Flandre. Soudain, les rôles sont inversés. Après un barrage d'artillerie lourde, les Canadiens reprennent les hauteurs stratégiques.

Norman Southorn
M
M

Norman Southorn

Norman Southorn

Immédiatement après l'attaque allemande, une contre-attaque fut ordonnée. Sans tarder, des renforts furent envoyés au front. Ils marchèrent toute la nuit. L'opération fut bricolée tambour battant. Il y eut confusion aux positions de départ. Hésitant, les bataillons entamèrent l'attaque.

En attendant, le jour se pointa. Seulement de petits groupes parvinrent à atteindre les lignes allemandes sous le feu meurtrier. Le 14ème bataillon (Royal Montreal Regiment), en particulier, en vit des vertes et des pas mûres. Après à peine trois cents mètres, les deux tiers du bataillon furent décimés.

Norman Southorn n'eut que 19 ans lorsqu'il voulut s'engager. Norman fut déterminé. Ses parents ne purent le faire changer d'avis. Espérant protéger son fils, Edward, le père de Norman, s'engagea également. Mais le père et le fils furent séparés. Norman partit au front. Son père, ayant vingt ans de plus, fut déployé dans l'arrière-pays. Fin 1915, Norman rejoignit le 14ème bataillon. Six mois plus tard, il fut mortellement blessé lors de la contre-attaque du Mont Sorrel. Norman fut enterré au Railway Dugouts Burial Grounds, mais sa tombe n’a pas été retrouvée. En 1919, Edward rentra chez lui, seul.

"Lieu de décès"
Repairing Trenches 22nd Infantry battalion French Canadian July 1916 BAC LAC O 285© BAC LAC O 285
Le 22e bataillon d'infanterie (canadien-français) répare des tranchées, juillet 1916.
N 185 T 1 Nr 55© Landesarchiv Baden-Württemberg, Abt. Staatsarchiv Sigmaringen, N 1/85 T 1 Nr. 55
Les Wurtembergeois en première ligne, 1916.

Conclusion

Par la suite, la situation est plus ou moins la même qu'avant le 2 juin 1916, bien que plus de 1 100 Canadiens aient été tués, 2 000 hommes aient été portés disparus et des milliers d'autres aient été blessés ou traumatisés. Du côté du Württemberg, il y a 1 300 tués, 3 982 blessés et 560 hommes portés disparus.

Repairing Trenches 22nd Infantry battalion French Canadian July 1916 BAC LAC O 285© BAC LAC O 285
Le 22e bataillon d'infanterie (canadien-français) répare des tranchées, juillet 1916.
La Bataille de Passchendaele

Découvrez les portés disparus canadiens sur le portail en ligne.

La Première Guerre mondiale a laissé de nombreuses traces dans le Westhoek. Le paysage est parsemé de monuments, de cimetières et de bunkers. Le portail en ligne se concentre sur les témoins silencieux de la guerre. Il veut attribuer aux Canadiens disparus une place dans le paysage. Curieux de découvrir leurs histoires?