The Second Battle of Ypres

In April 1915 the Canadians were deployed for the first time at Ypres. Men of three continents defended the town. At precisely this intersection of linguistic confusion and cultural differences the Germans launched a deadly offensive.
19940001 887 1600ppi © CWM 19940001-887_1
Hastily dug Canadian trenches during the Second Battle of Ypres, 1915.

Gas!

After days of bombardment, on 22 April 1915 a cloud of gas drifted in the direction of the French and Algerian lines. It was the first time poison gas had been deployed on a large scale. Hundreds suffocated in their trenches and the survivors took to their heels. The gas cloud created a breach in the lines six kilometres wide. The way to Ypres lay open.

In obedience to their orders, however, the Germans dug in at nightfall. Insufficient reserves were available for them to advance any further. In retrospect, the German army command had missed a great opportunity. In the hope of still being able to capitalize on their success, they brought up reinforcements the next day.

William Roberts The First German Gas Attack at Ypres© National Gallery of Canada
William Roberts - The First German Gas Attack at Ypres, 1918.

On the counterattack

To gain time, the Allies mounted a counterattack. For the Canadians it was the first major operation of the war.

15th Battalion on the Road to Ypres 1915

Kitchener’s Wood

Kitchener’s Wood, an oak wood on a rise at St. Julien, had to be taken back at all costs. Otherwise the Germans would be able to direct artillery fire on Allied positions from there. In the night of 22 to 23 April 1915, a motley collection of Canadians and French colonials advanced. Just short of the wood, a hedge with barbed-wire entanglements obstructed them. Equipment clattering, the forward rows clambered through the hedge. Their nervous rustling alerted the German sentries and a short time later the machine guns rattled. For the Canadians there was no way but forward. After a fierce and chaotic battle the oak wood was taken, at great cost.

Herbert Norman Klotz
D
D

Herbert Norman Klotz

Herbert Norman Klotz

To compensate for the heavy losses, the Canadians sent reinforcements to Kitchener’s Wood before dawn. Thick fog initially hid them from sight, but the morning mist evaporated in the spring sunshine. Suddenly they found themselves within sight of the German machine guns. Within minutes the damage was done. Herbert Norman Klotz, a chemist of German extraction, was one of the many dead of the 2nd Battalion (Eastern Ontario Regiment). Twenty-eight years old, he was killed just short of Kitchener’s Wood by a shell burst.

‘Place of death’

Two weeks before the attack, Herbert wrote to a friend:

I am at present in the cellar of a ruined farmhouse, 100 yards from our trenches and the rifle fire and cannonading keep up incessantly. We therefore have to keep under cover. We haven’t had very many losses yet and hope it will continue that way. I guess it can’t last very long though.
This appears to show Canadian Expeditionary Force troops in a first line position sometime in 1915 in shallow trenches or defensive works BAC LAC M 488 J© BAC LAC M 488 J

Mauser Ridge

On 23 April, a little to the west of Kitchener’s Wood, the Canadians mounted an attack on a slight rise called Mauser Ridge. The gentle slope between Kitchener’s Wood and the Yser Canal was the ideal jumping off point for renewed German attacks. Across from where the Germans were dug in, the Canadians were an easy target and the units storming forward faced a torrent of bullets. Although the Canadians did not reach German lines, their counterattacks enabled them to extend their front line.

Arthur Percival Dearman Birchall
E
E

Arthur Percival Dearman Birchall

Arthur Percival Dearman Birchall

Like many Canadian officers, Arthur Birchall was British by origin. He was educated at Eton and Oxford and was a sportsman and an avid hunter. In fact he was the paragon of the pre-war British officer class. During the Boer War, Arthur joined the army, making a career for himself and becoming a military instructor in Canada.

In late 1914 he joined the Canadian contingent as a captain, later rising to the rank of lieutenant-colonel. After the German gas attack of 22 April 1915, he and his unit, the 4th Battalion (Central Ontario), took part in the counterattack on Mauser Ridge.

There was hardly any cover to be found. Halfway up the undulating slope the German artillery pinned down the Canadians on the battlefield. The men lay there under fire for a full day. When a commanding officer was wounded, Lieutenant-Colonel Birchall took over command of his company. Towards evening, Arthur was killed.

The 4th Battalion suffered 506 dead, wounded and missing on 23 April. Arthur was buried close to Turco Farm, but after the war his body could not be identified.

‘Place of death’
19700139 002600ppi© CWM 19700139-002
Rudimentary positions near Ypres, 1915.
19700139 006600ppi© CWM 19700139

The drama of 24 April

In the early hours of 24 April, a gas cloud made a breach in the Canadian lines. The troops could protect themselves only by tying wet cloths over their mouths and noses, and handkerchiefs were of no use against concentrated poison gas.

The Canadian positions were impossible to hold. Chaos prevailed. There was not enough artillery support. Practically all lines of communication had been severed and to make matters worse the Canadian Ross Rifles proved unreliable. British ammunition, where it was available at all, jammed the Canadian-made rifles.

There was no option but to retreat. German machine guns covered every square metre. Despite heavy losses, the gap in the front line was closed by British reinforcements. After the drama of 24 April the Canadians were in a desperate state. The troops had been on the go for more than eighty-five hours, so they were exhausted, filthy and hungry. Many were wounded. Relief came not a moment too soon.

Henry Brown
MZ 1722
MZ 1722

Henry Brown

Henry Brown

Henry Brown was one of innumerable British immigrants who volunteered for the Canadian Expeditionary Force right at the start. The young farmer was a reservist and he joined the ranks of the 15th Battalion (48th Highlanders).

Early in the morning of 24 April, a gas cloud blew across the Canadian lines. Henry and his companions were hit hard. Panic broke out and the battalion fled. This was no orderly retreat; it was every man for himself.

The losses suffered by the Highlanders were astronomical: 671 casualties, 223 of them fatal.

Henry Brown, just twenty years old, died at a dressing station from the effects of poison gas. There was no time to bury the young man. The Germans were approaching at a great pace and the dressing station fell into German hands that same day.

‘Place of death’
Ross Rifle© MMP1917 MZ 00694
After 1915 the unreliable Canadian rifles were gradually replaced with British rifles.

Conclusion

The German offensive continued to push the Allies back, but they could not come close to repeating the success of 22 April. The Canadians played a large part in the halting of the German offensive.

The price paid amounted to 7,000 casualties. More than 1,800 Canadians were killed.

  • The Muster of the 48th Highlanders after Battle of St Julien 212 out of 1034 The Red Watch With the First Canadian Division in Flanders
    The Muster of the remaining 48th Highlanders after the Battle of St Julien.
  • Uniform 48th Highlanders© 48th Highlanders Museum/15th Battalion Memorial Project: artifact 2, 6, 40
    Uniform of the 48th Highlanders with the less visible Balmoral Bonnet.

In Flanders' Fields

Lt Col John Mc Crae and his dog Bonneau BAC LAC 3192003

Moved by the many wounded and dead, and by the death of a good friend, Canadian army doctor John McCrae wrote his famous poem ‘In Flanders Fields’ on 3 May 1915.

Alexis Hannum Helmer
Alexis Hannum Helmer
Alexis Hannum Helmer

Alexis Hannum Helmer

Alexis Hannum Helmer

Alexis Helmer, son of a professional soldier, was born in Hull, Quebec, Canada. Alexis completed his training at the Royal Military College and afterwards studied to become a railway engineer. When war broke out, he was assigned to the 1st Artillery Brigade.

In late April 1915 the Canadian artillery remained at its post. Every available gun was deployed to stop the German advances. On 2 May 1915 Lieutenants Helmer and Hague left their positions on the Yser Canal. The two officers, aged twenty-two and twenty-six, went to observe German positions. All at once, a heavy shell burst nearby.

Helmer died on the spot. Hague was evacuated to a field hospital but succumbed to his wounds that same day.

Alexis Helmer was buried next to the canal. John McCrae, a medical officer with the brigade and a good friend of Alexis, attended his burial. The death of his friend inspired him to write the world-famous poem ‘In Flanders Fields’.

‘Place of death’

Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry

After the Canadian division was relieved in late April, one Canadian unit remained active in the front line: Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry.

It was the last privately raised regiment in the British Empire. A Canadian volunteer unit, it was founded in August 1914 by a wealthy veteran. It served under British command. Only the best men were selected. The regiment was named after Princess Patricia of Connaught, daughter of Prince Arthur, Canada’s Governor General.

In early May 1915 the Germans launched a renewed attack on Ypres. The main blow was struck at the Patricia’s positions, near Bellewaerde. If the Germans broke through, the way to Ypres would lie open. From 4 to 8 May, shells rained down on the Patricia’s, but with the help of British reinforcements they maintained their position.

Nevertheless, 110 of the Patricia’s were buried together on the battlefield, close to the place where later a monument was erected in honour of the unit. In the chaotic early days of the war especially, the dead were often buried together in abandoned trenches or in shell holes.

Princess Patricia inspecting Princess Patricias Canadian Light Infantry in England 1919 BAC LAC 1970 074© BAC LAC 1970-074
Princess Patricia inspects her regiment, 1919.
'Land of mine'

Discover the Canadian missing on the online portal.

The First World War left its mark on Flanders in many ways. Monuments, cemeteries and bunkers are scattered all over the landscape. The online portal seeks out the silent witnesses of the war in an attempt to give missing Canadians a place in the landscape. Want to know their stories?

La Seconde Bataille d’Ypres

En avril 1915, les Canadiens sont déployés pour la première fois autour d’Ypres. Des soldats de trois continents y défendaient la ville. C'est à ce moment difficile où régnaient la confusion des langues et des différences culturelles que les Allemands lancèrent leur une offensive meurtrière.
19940001 887 1600ppi © CWM 19940001-887_1
Tranchées canadiennes creusées à la hâte lors de la Seconde Bataille d’Ypres, 1915.

Le gaz!

Après des bombardements à longueur des jours, un nuage de gaz atteignit les lignes françaises et algériennes le 22 avril 1915. C'était la première fois que des gaz toxiques furent utilisés à grande échelle. Des centaines de personnes suffoquèrent dans les tranchées. Les survivants se hâtèrent pour prendre la fuite. Le nuage de gaz provoqua une brèche de six kilomètres. La route vers Ypres était grande ouverte.

Mais fidèles à leurs ordres, les Allemands se retranchèrent au crépuscule. Il n'y avait pas assez de réserves pour avancer plus loin. En rétrospective, le commandement militaire allemand avait raté une occasion sans précédent. Tout en espérant de tirer encore quelque profit de ce succès, ils firent venir des renforts dans les jours qui suivent.

William Roberts The First German Gas Attack at Ypres© National Gallery of Canada
La première attaque allemande au gaz à Ypres, William Roberts.

La contre-attaque

Pour gagner du temps, les Alliés passent à la contre-attaque. Pour les Canadiens, il s'agit de la première opération majeure de la guerre.

15th Battalion on the Road to Ypres 1915

Kitchener’s Wood

Kitchener's Wood, un bois de chênes légèrement plus élevé près de St Julien, doit être repris à tout prix. Sinon, à partir de là, les Allemands pourraient lancer leurs tirs d'artillerie sur les positions alliées. Dans la nuit du 22 au 23 avril 1915, une équipe hétéroclite de Canadiens et de coloniaux français se met en marche. Juste avant la forêt, une haie avec des clôtures en fil barbelé provoque un retard. Munis de leur équipement bruyant, les premiers rangs grimpent à travers la haie. Le bruissement nerveux alarme les sentinelles allemandes. Quelques instants plus tard, les mitrailleuses résonnent. Les Canadiens n’ont pas d’autre choix que de suivre la route en avant. Après une bataille acharnée et chaotique, le bois de chêne est reconquis, au prix de lourdes pertes.

Herbert Norman Klotz
Herbert Klotz
Herbert Klotz

Herbert Norman Klotz

Herbert Norman Klotz

A l’aube, en espérant de compenser les lourdes pertes, les Canadiens avaient envoyé des renforts au Kitchener’s Wood. Au début, un épais brouillard les protégea. Mais la brume matinale se dissipa sous les rayons du soleil printanier. Soudain, ils furent dans le viseur des mitrailleuses allemandes. Quelques instants plus tard, le malheur triompha. Herbert Norman Klotz, un chimiste d'origine allemande, figura parmi les nombreux morts du 2e bataillon (Eastern Ontario Regiment). Le jeune homme de 28 ans fut tué par un obus juste avant le Kitchener’s Wood.

"Lieu de décès"

Deux semaines avant l’attaque, Herbert écrit à un ami:

Je loge actuellement dans la cave d'une ferme qui a été ravagée, à moins de 100 mètres de nos tranchées. Les tirs et le grondement des canons n'en finissent pas. Du fait, nous sommes bien obligés de nous cacher ici. Nous n'avons pas encore subi trop de pertes et j'espère que ça continuera ainsi. Cependant, je ne crois pas que cela puisse encore durer plus longtemps.
This appears to show Canadian Expeditionary Force troops in a first line position sometime in 1915 in shallow trenches or defensive works© BAC LAC M 488 J

Mauser Ridge

Quelque peu à l'ouest du Kitchener’s Wood, à l'aube du 23 avril, les Canadiens lancent une attaque sur une petite élévation, la crête de Mauser. La pente légère entre le Kitchener’s Wood et le canal est le tremplin idéal pour de nouvelles attaques allemandes. En face des Allemands retranchés, les Canadiens sont une cible facile. Il pleut des balles sur les unités qui avancent. Bien que les Canadiens n'atteignent pas les lignes allemandes, ils peuvent reconstituer une ligne de front en contre-attaquant. Les Canadiens le paient cher. Mais on a gagné du temps. Du temps que les Allemands eux-mêmes ne peuvent utiliser pour passer à l'offensive.

Arthur Percival Dearman Birchall
E
E

Arthur Percival Dearman Birchall

Arthur Percival Dearman Birchall

Comme de nombreux officiers canadiens, Arthur Birchall, fut d'origine britannique. Il fit ses études à Eton et Oxford, fut sportif et un chasseur passionné. Il était l'incarnation de la caste des officiers britanniques d'avant-guerre. Arthur s’engagea dans l'armée pendant la guerre des Boers, y fit carrière et devint instructeur militaire au Canada.

Fin 1914, il rejoignit le contingent canadien. D'abord comme capitaine, et plus tard comme lieutenant-colonel. Après l'attaque allemande au gaz du 22 avril 1915, lui et son unité, le 4ème bataillon (Central Ontario), participèrent à la contre-attaque sur la crête de Mauser.

Il n'y eut presque pas moyen de se couvrir. A mi-chemin de la pente douce, l'artillerie allemande cloua les Canadiens au sol. Pendant une journée entière, les hommes furent sous le feu. Lorsqu'un officier en charge fut blessé, le lieutenant-colonel Birchall prit le commandement de sa compagnie. Arthur fut tué à la tombée de la nuit,.

Le 23 avril, le 4ème bataillon compta 506 morts, blessés et disparus. Arthur fut enterré près de la Turco Farm, sans avoir été identifié après la guerre.

"Lieu de décès"
19700139 002600ppi© CWM 19700139-002
Positions rudimentaires à Ypres, 1915.
19700139 006600ppi© CWM 19700139

Le drame du 24 avril

A l’aube du 24 avril, un nuage de gaz perce les lignes canadiennes. Les troupes ne peuvent se protéger qu'en portant des chiffons humides sur leur bouche et leur nez. Mais les mouchoirs ne servent à rien contre les gaz toxiques concentrés.

Les positions canadiennes ne peuvent tenir le coup. Le chaos règne. Il y a trop peu de soutien d'artillerie. Pratiquement toutes les lignes de communication ont été coupées et, comme pour aggraver les choses, les Canadian Ross Rifles fonctionnent mal. Les munitions britanniques, si du moins elles sont disponibles, provoquent des blocages dans les fusils produits au Canada.

La retraite devient inévitable. Mais les mitrailleuses allemandes couvrent chaque mètre carré. Malgré de lourdes pertes, la brèche dans la ligne de front peut être comblée grâce aux renforts britanniques. Après la tragédie du 24 avril, les Canadiens ont désespérément besoin d'aide. Les troupes sont debout depuis plus de 85 heures, épuisées, sales et affamées. Il y a beaucoup de blessés. La relève tombe à pic.

Henry Brown
MZ 1722
MZ 1722

Henry Brown

Henry Brown

Henry Brown fut l'un des nombreux immigrés britanniques qui se portèrent volontaires pour le premier contingent du Corps Expéditionnaire Canadien. Le jeune fermier fut réserviste et fut incorporé au 15ème bataillon (48th Highlanders).

Au petit matin du 24 avril, un nuage de gaz bafoua rapidement les lignes canadiennes. Henry et ses camarades furent frappés de plein fouet. La panique éclata et le bataillon s'enfuit. Il n’ était pas question de recul ordonné. C'était chacun pour soi.

Les pertes chez les Highlanders étaient gigantesques. Il y avait 671 victimes, dont 223 morts.

Henry Brown, âgé de 20 ans seulement, mourut d'une intoxication au gaz dans un poste de secours. Le temps manqua pour enterrer le jeune homme. Les Allemands approchèrent à toute vitesse. Le jour même, le poste de secours tomba aux mains des Allemands.

"Lieu de décès"
Ross Rifle© MMP1917 MZ 00694
Après 1915, le fusil canadien Ross, défaillants sont remplacés par des fusils britanniques.

Conclusion

L'offensive allemande continue à repousser les Alliés. Mais, ils n’atteindront plus le succès du 22 avril. Les Canadiens ont un rôle important à jouer pour stopper l'offensive allemande.

Le nombre de pertes s’élève à 7.000. En gros, 1.800 Canadiens sont morts.

  • The Muster of the 48th Highlanders after Battle of St Julien 212 out of 1034 The Red Watch With the First Canadian Division in Flanders
    Seulement quelques Highlanders répondent à l’appel du 25 avril 1915.
  • Uniform 48th Highlanders.© 48th Highlanders Museum/15th Battalion Memorial Project: artifact 2, 6, 40
    Uniforme du 48th Highlanders avec le bonnet Balmoral, moins visible.

‘In Flanders’ Fields’

Lt Col John Mc Crae and his dog Bonneau BAC LAC 3192003

Frappé par la multitude de blessés et de morts et après la mort d’un ami intime, le médecin militaire canadien, John McCrae, écrit son célèbre poème ‘In Flanders’ Fields’, le 3 mai 1915.

Alexis Hannum Helmer
Alexis Hannum Helmer
Alexis Hannum Helmer

Alexis Hannum Helmer

Alexis Hannum Helmer

Alexis Helmer, fils d'un militaire professionnel, naquit à Hull, au Québec, Canada. Alexis termina ses études au Royal Military College, après quoi il fit des études pour devenir ingénieur ferroviaire. Lorsque la guerre éclata, Alexis fut affecté à la 1ère brigade d'artillerie.

A la fin du mois d'avril 1915, l'artillerie canadienne resta à son poste. Chaque pièce d'artillerie fut utilisée pour arrêter les attaques allemandes. Le 2 mai 1915, les lieutenants Helmer et Hague quittèrent leurs positions au canal de l'Yser. Les officiers de 22 et 26 ans partirent observer les positions allemandes. Soudain, une grenade lourde les frappa.

Helmer mourut sur le coup. Hague fut évacué vers un hôpital de campagne, mais succomba à ses blessures le jour même.

Alexis Helmer fut enterré le long du canal. John McCrae, médecin militaire de la brigade et bon ami d'Alexis, assista aux funérailles. La mort de son ami l'inspira à écrire le poème mondialement connu In Flanders' Fields.

"Lieu de décès"

Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry

Après la relève de la division canadienne à la fin du mois d'avril, une seule unité canadienne reste active en première ligne, le Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry.

C'est la dernière unité privée de l'Empire britannique. Cette unité de volontaires canadiens avait été fondée en août 1914 par un vétéran fortuné. Elle opère sous le commandement britannique. Seuls les meilleurs sont sélectionnés. Le régiment porte le nom de la princesse Patricia de Connaught, fille du prince Arthur, Gouverneur Général du Canada.

Début mai 1915, les Allemands lancent un nouvel assaut sur Ypres. Les positions des Patricia, près de Bellewaerde en forment la cible. S'ils réussissent à percer, la route vers Ypres est grande ouverte. Du 4 au 8 mai, il pleut des obus sur les Patricia. Avec l'aide de renforts britanniques, ils ont pu tenir leur position.

Jusqu'à 110 Patricia's sont enterrés ensemble dans le champ, tout près de l'endroit où plus tard un monument sera érigé en l'honneur de cette unité. Surtout pendant les premiers jours chaotiques de la guerre, les morts étaient souvent enterrés ensemble dans une tranchée abandonnée ou un cratère.

Princess Patricia inspecting Princess Patricias Canadian Light Infantry in England 1919 BAC LAC 1970 074© BAC LAC 1970-074
La princesse Patricia inspecte son régiment, 1919.
'Les Oubliés'

Découvrez les portés disparus canadiens sur le portail en ligne.

La Première Guerre mondiale a laissé de nombreuses traces dans le Westhoek. Le paysage est parsemé de monuments, de cimetières et de bunkers. Le portail en ligne se concentre sur les témoins silencieux de la guerre. Il veut attribuer aux Canadiens disparus une place dans le paysage. Curieux de découvrir leurs histoires?